Hawaiian Flag Day (31/07)

In 1990, Hawaii Governor John D. Waihee III proclaimed July 31 as Hawaiian Flag Day (Ka Hae Hawaii Day).

The Hawaiian flag was designed by the monarch. In 1816, King Kamehameha the Great proposed, in modern terms, the design of the national flag.

Eight alternating horizontal stripes - white, red and blue - symbolize the eight main islands of the state: Oahu, Maui, Lanai, Kauai, Kahoolawe, Molokai, Niihau and the Big Island. In the upper left corner is the flag of Great Britain, reminiscent of the historical relationship of the Hawaiian Islands with Great Britain and its protectorate.