Constitution Day of Norway (17/05)

Norwegian Constitution Day (Nor. Grunnlovsdag) is a national holiday in the country, which is celebrated annually on May 17 and is a public holiday.

Today's holiday in Norway is the anniversary of the adoption of the Constitution on May 17 in 1814 at the National Assembly in Eidsvoll, which approved the freedom and independence of the country.

For more than 400 years, Norway remained a Danish province, and now entered into a union with Sweden, which lasted until 1905. A hereditary limited monarchy was established, where the king exercises power through the Government, and the Parliament manages the treasury and establishes laws. The Norwegian constitution was one of the most progressive in Europe.