Medical Worker Day in Azerbaijan (17/06)

June 17 is the Day of Medical Worker in Azerbaijan.

The history of the holiday is rooted in the events of the early 20th century, when on June 17, 1918, the Government of the newly formed Azerbaijan Democratic Republic established the Ministry of Health of the young state. This state did not last long, after which it became part of the USSR, where Medical Worker's Day was celebrated annually every third Sunday in June.

In many republics that gained independence after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the holiday has not changed its date and is still traditionally celebrated on the third Sunday of the first month of summer. In Azerbaijan, they decided to honor health workers on another day, choosing June 17 as the date of the establishment of the first Ministry of Health in 1918. This professional holiday received its official status thanks to the Decree of the President of the Republic Heydar Aliyev, signed on June 4, 2001. Since that day, the Day of Medical Worker is celebrated annually in Azerbaijan on June 17.