Independence Day of Poland (11/11)

Independence Day in Poland, or rather, the National Independence Day (Polish Narodowe Święto Niepodległości), is celebrated annually on November 11 in honor of the declaration of independence of the state from the domination of Germany, Russia and Austria in 1918.

November 11, 1918 ended the First World War, and after 125 years of partition of Poland between Prussia, Russia and Austria, the country again appeared on the map of Europe. On this day, Józef Pilsudski, Marshal of Poland, became head of state. On his behalf, the first democratic government was formed in Warsaw.

November 11 was declared a public holiday in 1937. But independent Poland existed only until September 1939, when it fell under the rule of Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union, which divided it among themselves. After the end of World War II, in 1945 Poland became a member of the socialist camp, and during this period Independence Day was not officially celebrated. This continued until 1989, when the first democratic elections were held in Poland.

Independence Day is a public holiday, which is accompanied by the raising of flags, speeches by the President of the country, officials, famous political figures, as well as a military parade in the center of Warsaw. Celebrations, concerts and festivities are held in all cities of the country.