Day of International Recognition of Croatia (15/01)

January 15 is celebrated in Croatia as the Day of International Recognition of Croatia.

On this day in 1992, the Republic of Croatia, then another of the Yugoslav republics, was internationally recognized by 12 countries of the European Union. On the same day they were joined by Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Hungary, Malta, Poland and Switzerland.

The first country to recognize Croatia was Iceland, which adopted a decision on December 19, 1991. On January 13, Croatia was recognized by the Vatican, and on January 14, by San Marino.