United Nations South-South Cooperation Day (12/09)

United Nations Day for South-South Cooperation is one of the international days of the United Nations, which is celebrated annually on September 12.

On this day in 1978 in the capital of Argentina, the city of Buenos Aires, delegations from 138 states adopted the Buenos Aires Plan of Action for Promoting and Implementing Technical Cooperation among Developing Countries.

The term "South-South cooperation" refers to the exchange of knowledge, technology and resources between the countries of the global South, i.e. the developing countries of Africa, Latin America and Asia.