Independence Day of Georgia (26/05)

Independence Day of Georgia (Georgian დამოუკიდებლობის დღე) is the main public holiday in the country.

Since the 19th century, Georgia has been part of Russia. On May 26, 1918, the democratic government of Georgia, headed by Noe Zhordania, proclaimed the independence of the country. This date is today celebrated as the Independence Day of Georgia.

The first independent Democratic Republic of Georgia lasted until March 18, 1921. During this time, Georgia was de jure recognized by 23 states of Europe (Great Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Soviet Russia, Turkey), Asia and Latin America (Argentina, etc.).